Defying Stereotypes

I constantly preach on the stereotype issue. I am always highlighting how so many times people are placing labels on people based on preconceived notions placed upon groups by society. In my daily life, I truly never judge a book by its cover, but personally I worry how people view me within society.

For the majority of my adult life, I have been the perfect example of why people should not stereotype people, but sometimes I focus so much on breaking stereotypes that I diverge from being truly myself. The fact that I shy away from my true self is even worse than proving a stereotype right.

This leads me to my purpose for writing. Sometimes people like myself either try hard to defy a stereotype or to fit the stereotype instead of remaining true to ourselves.  I am a sarcastic, intelligent, rap/rock listening, sub par dancing, proper speaking, chicken loving, animal loving, multi-racial american.

At times I shy away from my love for hip-hop, rock, or country not to look too white or too black. I stop emphasizing my words around certain people or refrain from using certain vocabulary. I dumb myself down, tone down my sarcasm, and become a lesser version of myself. I am not promoting that I do not love my personality, but sometimes I am so focused on proving certain stereotypes wrong that I diminish vital personality traits the I possess.

I have come to realize that educating on diminishing stereotypes is enough. I do not have to become someone different to inform others of the negative connotation and harmful effects caused by stereotypes within society.

I can still laugh too loud, eat too much fried chicken, talk “too”‘ white (speak proper English), dance like no one is watching, and listen to a wide variety of music. I can do all of these without shame because I do not always need to defy a stereotype. I need to be me! If being completely true to myself makes or breaks stereotypes than so be it,but if I am defining that stereotype than so be it. Regardless I am happily being who I was meant to be.

Here is to growing into a new and happier person. Here is to the next phase of my adult life! Here is to everyone being their true amazing self!

Leave a Reply

