Life is like a box of chocolate

When I was younger, I watched the movie Forrest Gump. Like most people, the line the grabbed my attention was “my mama always said, Life is like a box of chocolate you never know what you are going to get”. Until recently, I did not agree with Mrs. Gump,  I believed that we could carve our destiny and future through hard work and dedication to our dreams.  Although I still believe in the ideals of setting your own path and that you are in control of your dreams, life has a way of carving a path you would never imagine for yourself.  Lately I have been dead focused on my career and success that I have imagined for myself. I have this high standard that I believe I must obtain to be successful and happy.  I have to lose so much weight, eat healthy, have a good career, make my parents proud, and so forth. Within all these goals to success, I forgot that these things will not truly contribute to my happiness. Being skinny with a great career will not keep me warm at night. Having a perfect life with the absences of laughing and people to share everything with is not true happiness.

True happiness comes from within. It is accepting our limitations while still pushing to be the best version of ourselves. It is finding someone who enjoys our imperfections and will eat pizza on a Friday night instead of someone who wants a perfect body.

Jerome Cole stated it best in the video below: minutes 10-11:30 and the end 22 till the end

http://www.hotnewhiphop.com/jcole-j-cole-interview-with-tavis-smiley-new-video.33108.html

I cannot tell you what life has in store for me each day. Life is truly like a box of chocolate. I never know what I am going to get day to day but at least I know it will be sweet, and at least I can look forward to a little bit of chocolate.

 

KP

Leave a Reply

